The Murder (V)

Posted on Updated on

Kate had been working on the laptop and memory drive for two days straight now and we’ve got nothing. To think that I got the computer and memory stick back to the office safe was a miracle. Just some minutes into leaving the premises of Hex Tech, I was chased by a black, tinted sedan. That further assured me that the info on the duo was worth killing for. The encryptions on both were very strong and required expertise and time to break. My patience, on the other hand, was starting to wane. Kate had assured me some several minutes ago that within the hour, they should be able to break past the first encryption.
I stood in my office, facing the white board on which all matters, papers and pictures related to the case were pinned together. There was no correlation between any of them.

I had personally interrogated some known associates and former partners of the doctor, even those whom we thought had a score to settle with him, but all to no avail. His 10 year old daughter had been placed in protective custody and has no idea what’s wrong. She’s just been made to believe her father is on another of his trips. My eyes rested on Dr. Hammonds picture, and with a whisper, I asked, who did this to you, doc?
As if the universe was prepared to answer my question, Kate barged into my office.
“Sir. We pulled something off the laptop”
“What about the memory drive?” I asked
“All we know is that it contains audio files. From the format, we’re believing they’re recorded phone calls”
“That’s great progress. So what could you pull off the laptop?”
“Dr. Hammond was working on a compound before he was murdered. A gas of some sort. Dr. Moses is on hold on line 3 to talk to you about it”
“Thank you, Kate. Update me when you find something else”
Kate left the office and I walked over to my desk and punched in #3.
“Detective Larry here. Dr. Moses, talk to me”
“Good afternoon, detective. I’m sorry to tell you that what you’re dealing with is bigger than you might think. Dr. Hammond was working on a gas before his death, and by the information I got from his worksheet, he succeeded”
“What gas, doc?”
“Its called the Xenorocarbide Mutation Gas. Its widely believed among physicians that if there was a possible way to combine the elements Xenon, Carbon and Calcium, we might have a possible cure for cancer. But the thought was discontinued after further researches showed that it could be easily engineered to form a deadly nerve gas”
“So in simpler words, doc”, I started, “you mean we might have a biological weapon in town”
“Yes, Detective, and its a very potent one. It has a very high killing capacity.”
“Thank you, doc. I’ll call you when I need you again”
“Anytime, detective”
I broke up the call and sat down in my chair, dejected. First a murder, now its a deadly biological weapon. What next? A terrorist attack?.
Before the sentence played through in my mind, an idea popped into my head fast. I picked up the receiver, dialed Kate’s number and asked her to come see me immediately. She arrived in no time, obviously sensing the urgency in my voice.
“Kate, search all channels. I want you to filter all chatter you receive. The keywords are something about a powerful nerve gas and a terrorist attack. Synchronize with other agencies and ask them to help the search. Coordinate with our undercover agents too, maybe they have a lead on it”
“Would be done, sir”
“And oh, I want results, this time, fast!”
Kate left the room without another word. I checked my watch. 2:57PM. I had to get lunch. Might as well bring some back for the tech guys and Kate.

17 thoughts on “The Murder (V)

    The Murder (VI) « Christopher's Cave... said:
    March 29, 2014 at 7:25 PM

    […] click on the respective highlights —» [Chapter 1, Chapter 2, Chapter 3, Chapter Four and Chapter 5]. Thanks […]

    Like

    yhtwzpkf@gmail.com said:
    July 7, 2014 at 3:50 AM

    Your means of explaining everything in this piece of writing is really fastidious, every one be able to simply understand it, Thanks a lot.
    Louis Vuitton outlet Online Sale http://www.strategis.co.uk/footer.cfm

    Like

      Christopher responded:
      July 7, 2014 at 7:41 AM

      You’re welcome. Thanks for taking time out.

      Like

    Running Man said:
    August 17, 2014 at 8:56 AM

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did
    you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do
    it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog
    and would like to know where u got this from. many thanks

    Like

      Christopher responded:
      September 5, 2014 at 11:16 PM

      You’re welcome. I actually made the web design myself. If you need help, you can contact me later.

      Like

    wiz khalifa quotes said:
    September 5, 2014 at 7:21 PM

    I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is
    written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem.

    You are amazing! Thanks!

    Like

      Christopher responded:
      September 5, 2014 at 11:17 PM

      Your problem? I wish I knew what that meant. And Lol, but this is not your cousin. Thanks for taking time out.

      Like

    wiz khalifa quotes said:
    September 7, 2014 at 1:08 AM

    Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have
    you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is great, as well as the content!

    Like

      Christopher responded:
      September 9, 2014 at 8:44 AM

      Its just the passion. And for the layout, lol, I’ve got the eye for creativity.

      Like

    wiz khalifa quotes said:
    September 7, 2014 at 3:36 PM

    Howdy! I understand this is sort of off-topic however
    I had to ask. Does building a well-established website like yours require a lot of
    work? I am brand new to running a blog but I do write in my
    journal every day. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners.

    Thankyou!

    Like

      Christopher responded:
      September 9, 2014 at 8:48 AM

      It requires a lot of effort, but the love for writing downs it all. I’ll love to go on but it’ll be too long a write-up. Kindly mail me (check the mail in the about page) and I’ll be more than glad to help.

      Like

    wiz khalifa quotes said:
    September 8, 2014 at 2:08 AM

    hello!,I really like your writing so a lot!

    proportion we keep up a correspondence extra about your post on AOL?
    I require an expert on this house to unravel my problem.
    Maybe that is you! Looking ahead to look you.

    Like

    transcription services rates said:
    October 4, 2014 at 8:55 AM

    Heya i am for the primary time here. I found this board and I to find It truly useful &
    it helped me out a lot. I hope to provide something again and aid others such as you aided me.

    Like

    translations companies said:
    October 4, 2014 at 3:07 PM

    Aw, this was a very nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to make
    a top notch article… but what can I say… I put things
    off a whole lot and don’t manage to get nearly anything done.

    Like

    spanish translation in spanish said:
    October 5, 2014 at 3:24 PM

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your weblog.
    You have some really good articles and I think I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write
    some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please blast me an email if interested. Thank you!

    Like

    medical transcription services said:
    October 6, 2014 at 9:43 AM

    Greetings! I’ve been following your blog for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and
    give you a shout out from Dallas Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the excellent work!

    Like

    flyer printing free said:
    October 24, 2014 at 9:26 PM

    Wow, this post is pleasant, my younger sister
    is analyzing these things, thus I am going to convey her.

    Like

Leave a Reply

