REFLECTIONS

Posted on Updated on

I have debated with myself a lot before I could finally arrive at that title above, and to be honest, I still think its not fitting of what I think and feel right now. Passion dies with time, but since the break of day when this post has come to my mind, I haven’t had rest till this moment when I’m putting it into writing, and as I do so, even words fail to convey the flame of what I feel inside.

Let me start by telling you this story :

It was about a decade ago, and I was very much little in age and young at heart. So much so, I had a junior whom I call Love*, a male. It so happened that one day, I was very thirsty and was in need of a drink to relax my aching throat. Love* happened to have water, even in excess, but refused to give to me. I knew no reason why he would have done so. We’ve already closed at school and we were all going home so I wasn’t going to inconvenience him. All my pleas fell on deaf ears. That day, I held my thirst till I got home, before getting a drink to refresh myself.

That, above, is one very true part of my childhood. Now today, whilst going to church, I saw the same boy again, and lo, the only memory I had of him was him denying me water. I breezed past him and pretended he never existed, but my guilt followed me thence. That led me to thinking. What have you and I done in the lives of people? When people see us today, what’s the first thing that’ll come to their mind? Is it the good we did them or the immeasurable wrong we have recorded with them?

What happened today made me see things from two points of view. If I was angry and chose to stay angry at him, how much more people do I know who remember me for something not so great? I entered into a great state of mental solitude in which I resolved within myself to create a long lasting impression of good on anyone I meet from here thereof, and anyone I’ve known also. I also decided within myself that when next I see brother Love, I’ll embrace him and forgive that event, giving him another clean slate instead of holding his decade old sin against him.

I hope you do same. I hope you leave impression of good in others too. And I hope others do so, making this world a better place.
These were just my reflections, on an early Sunday morning. Happy Sunday!

6 thoughts on “REFLECTIONS

    oluko said:
    March 23, 2014 at 5:15 PM

    This is an exemplary school of thought. Food for thought for those who care to listen

    Like

      Larry McExx responded:
      March 23, 2014 at 5:54 PM

      I’m glad you think so. Thanks, sir.

      Like

    Maigida said:
    March 23, 2014 at 6:05 PM

    Thanks for sharing! I couldn’t have said it better. Inspire to Reflect, Inspire to Forgive, Inspire to Let go of the past! Bravo!!!

    Like

      Larry McExx responded:
      March 24, 2014 at 4:09 PM

      I appreciate your comment and insight. Thanks.

      Like

    Tolu said:
    March 24, 2014 at 8:06 PM

    Reflections?!?
    Nobody wants to keep such in mind tho’…but I’ll chosen vengeance as the title for the write-up…nice one anyway bro (…u should have streamlined yo elbow by now; iont think greese would be enough for em anymore)

    Like

      Larry McExx responded:
      March 24, 2014 at 11:26 PM

      LOL. Thanks. But I forgave him already. And oh, the science humor was appreciated. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

