The Murder (III)

Posted on Updated on

Sorry I couldn’t post yesterday. Couldn’t get a stable source to get my battery level up. Here’s the latest and third episode. Thanks for following.
________________________________________________________________
Hex Technologies is a beauty of architecture. The 24-floor skyscraper had to have been built and designed by one of the best architects in the world. Through my ride up in the stylish glass elevator, stopping at certain floors just to feed my eyes before I moved on to another elevator, all I took in was the beauty of the scene. One would have thought this was an art centre if not for the name of the company boldly written outside. I got to the office of the managing director in no time and knocked lightly on the glass door. She raised her head lightly from what she was busy in and nodded in affirmation for me to come in. I eased the door open gently to meet a warm smile on the face of the rather petite woman. She rose as I approached her. To think a young lady like this could have rose through ranks to become a MD was amazing.

“Hi. I’m Janet Cole. I heard you asked to speak with me”. She extended a hand and I shook it lightly. It was soft and small in my rather brawny and large hands.
“I’m Detective Larry Christopher”, I said as I flashed her my badge, “I’ll love to speak with you about one of your employees, Ms. Cole”
“Please call me Jane. And have a seat”
I took my seat and began, without further ado.
“I have some pictures here for you”, I started, pulling out some snapshots out of the brown envelope tucked under my left hand. I handed it to her and she gasped, putting her hand to her mouth.
“That’s Dr. Hammond!”
“Pardon?” I asked
“Yeah. Dr. Hammond. Head of Researches. He’s been AWOL for some days now, highly unusual. Who did this to him?”
“We have no idea too. I was hoping you could help”
She took some time before she spoke. She was obviously trying to stomach the fact that one of her employees had been murdered in such a gory manner.
“What can I do to help?” She finally gathered herself to ask.
“What’s the job description of Dr. Hammond here?”
“He’s in charge of researches. Youngest we have. 37 years of age. He records lots of technological breakthroughs, mostly on biology and chemistry. He specializes in medicine, gases and related stuffs. He has really contributed to this company”
“So why would someone want him dead?” I further probed
“I don’t know. I have no idea. He’s easygoing and rows his own boat. He’s more of an introvert. No friends, no enemies. I can’t think of anyone”
“Have you observed any change of behavior in him recently?”
“Of a truth, yes. Since about two months ago, he’s been suddenly jumpy. Normally, he works alone, but he asked for a lab help, and asked to recruit one of his choice. He started breaking habits, working late hours as well as other things. I didn’t bother to disturb him by asking since I thought it was just pressure from the job”
“What about family? Does he have any?”
“Yes. I’ve seen his daughter, but his wife’s dead. Its general knowledge. She died of cancer. He tried so much to save her. I just don’t know why anyone would do this to a man this good”. Tears were already welling up in her eyes. I could tell they were real tears, giving my years in the job.
“I’m so sorry for your loss. Thanks for your time”
She deftly wiped her eyes with the back of her hands and responded, “Sorry I couldn’t be of more help. If there’s anything else you need, I’ll be glad to help with it”
A thought then occurred to me. “Speaking of, can I see his lab?”
“Sure, anything. Its just one floor down, the 23rd. That’s where most of our laboratories are”
“Thanks again”. I gathered the pictures back into the envelope and rose to leave. She was still amidst sobs so I didn’t try to pull her out. I walked to the door, opened it, then heard her voice again.
“Detective, please find who did this”
I glanced back over my shoulder and nodded, then exited. My next stop was the lab. This case just couldn’t get tougher, I thought.

4 thoughts on “The Murder (III)

    herreeate said:
    March 23, 2014 at 3:07 PM

    Sorry I haven’t been able to read the posts,been busy and stuff….nice piece!I await the next episode!

    Like

      Larry McExx responded:
      March 23, 2014 at 3:25 PM

      Thanks for the support. Next episode soon..

      Like

    The Murder (VI) « Christopher's Cave... said:
    March 29, 2014 at 7:25 PM

    […] links to the other chapters, click on the respective highlights —» [Chapter 1, Chapter 2, Chapter 3, Chapter Four and Chapter 5]. Thanks […]

    Like

    Tiger said:
    January 9, 2015 at 8:53 AM

    We’ve arveird at the end of the line and I have what I need!

    Like

Leave a Reply

