A Day At The Bank – IV

Posted on Updated on

Hey there, I’m back with the next episode. Thanks for following this series and encouraging me to go on. I really appreciate it. For a refresh, or in case you haven’t read them at all, follow these links to go to Chapters —» One , Two and Three .

********************************************
I shifted forward with my whole body, dragging the chair with me. I moved and inched closer and closer to the table. I was determined to get the knife. I was just some centimeters from my goal when I observed that the manager was through with his call and was coming back into the room. Dejection swept over me, my plan was thwarted. He walked briskly, across the room towards me, and I thought more that if I didn’t escape from this hell hole right now, my whole life is gone. Then, I remembered another way I could employ to escape, but it was a bad and painful one. I had to break my thumb to be free from the tyings (Note : I took some anatomy classes).

I weighed my options at that moment. With the devilish look in the eyes of the man before me, it was okay to get a thumb lost than lose all my body in prison. As slowly, discreetly and courageously as I could manage it, I started pressing against my left thumb with my right hand, forcefully. The manager was nearly in front of me. I applied more pressure, even more than I should have applied, and with a violent snap, the thumb laid limp, broken.
“Aaaaaaaaarrrrrrggggh!” I screamed, so much that it startled my captor.
“What is wrong with you?” , he asked, a frown on his face
“Nothing. Everything is just sinking in again and I thought screaming would give me some relief”
“Ah! I understand”, he said between a wicked grin, “Go on and scream all you want. Its not like anyone would hear you from down here anyway”.

Unknown to him, my left hand was already free from the rope and I was working tirelessly to free my right hand, which came free about two minutes later. I was free! Free! Free! But not so free, I thought again, I had to get out.
The manager launched into a ramble about what he was going to do with the money, the vacations, the cars, all his daydreamings, etcetera while I kept thinking of how to get the knife. The moment he moved away from the table, I sprung out of my chair like a wounded cat, grabbed the knife and jabbed it below his ribs, twice. I didn’t even wait to see what damage I’ve done, I fled for the exit.
On getting out, I saw three men in the doorway, two on my left and one on my right. They spotted me instantly and started for me. Survival instinct kicked in. I’m not going to come this far to get captured again.

I took the knife in my right hand and surged towards the two men first. One sent me a punch, which I caught in mid air, and jabbed the knife into the side of his shoulders («–that’s where his nerve endings are. He’ll be lucky to recover). Immediately he went down, I didn’t allow the second man to react before I went for a cut-throat charge. That burst his windpipe and he immediately started to gasp for air. I was making for the third man when it happened…
Gbam! I got hit from behind, so hard I was sprawled on the floor. He towered above me as I was writhing in pain, made to stomp me and I evaded it. I staggered back to my feet and deduced he was much bigger than me. I couldn’t beat him.

Then, as fate would have it, he limped towards me. Yeah, LIMPED! He had a weakness, I’ll explore it. I feigned weakness, and as he got to me, I delivered a well calculated kick to his knee caps. That brought him to his knees, and without hesitation, I gave him a severe upper cut, rendering him unconscious. I took care of them all. I didn’t stop to marvel at what I did before I started to run, in the direction of the dripping water. In no time, I was out and surprisingly, their hideout is not in a bush, but in the middle of the town. I saw the car they brought me in with, peeped inside and found both suitcases. How happy I was! I took them both, ran like a madman to the main road, and hailed a cab for my boss’ house. I was too scared to go to a police station. My murders started to haunt me.

I took the cab and checked the time in it. 7:42 P.M. I wonder how long since I’ve been unconscious. Clutching both bags to my chest, the cab revved into action, and off to my boss’ house, I went…
****************************************

Thanks for reading. I know you might think that, the superman in me has saved me, but believe me, the story has just started. Would my boss’ house be a place of refuge? Will I be safe there? What about my murders? Read the next episode, and I’ll satisfy your inquisitive minds. Thanks.

8 thoughts on “A Day At The Bank – IV

    herreeate said:
    January 17, 2014 at 10:42 AM

    Wow!i hope you can do all that physically and not just on paper lol!…..as usual I await the next episode…Bless!

    Like

      Larry McExx responded:
      January 17, 2014 at 2:56 PM

      LOL. I wish. Thanks for reading..

      Like

    Anonymous said:
    January 25, 2014 at 3:45 PM

    Will nt stop reading this

    Like

    A Day At The Bank – VI « Christopher's Cave... said:
    January 26, 2014 at 11:32 AM

    […] read the past series, or missed some, here are the links to them [Chapter —-» One , Two, Three, Four and Five . ] Thank […]

    Like

    Uncle Victor said:
    February 10, 2014 at 1:13 AM

    I luv ur composition

    Like

    rhoda said:
    February 10, 2014 at 5:38 AM

    nice n cool write up,kip it up,will await d next episode

    Like

      Larry McExx responded:
      February 10, 2014 at 5:54 AM

      Thanks. Check the homepage. The next episodes are there..

      Like

Leave a Reply

