A Day At The Bank – II

Posted on Updated on

To those who were here for the first part, thanks for coming. To the newbies, you’re welcome. In case you haven’t read the first part, follow this link —-» here «— to read.

********************************************

My heart was beating fast and I went into a frenzied state of mental soliloquy. What should I do? Should I tell them its me? What if they’re assassins sent to kill me? What would happen to me if they should steal this huge amount from me? Everything was just zapping through my mind at the same instant. If not for the fact that the brain is a very powerful supercomputer, I could have gone into a 5-year coma, starting from that instance.

I was deep in thought when by instinct, I slightly raised my head and looked upstairs. There, I saw the bank manager whom the terrorists were unaware of. We made eye contact and he tried to communicate something to me. It was through sign language. At that moment, I became grateful to my HOD Linguistics for making me take those classes. I read the manager’s hand sign, which was short and acute. It read, “Behind you. Fire Exit. Me Distract. You Run”. I got the message, and relief swept over me, for the time being.

“One!”, the leader of the terrorists suddenly barked, “Two! Three! Four! Fi–!”..
“Please, don’t hurt anyone”, the manager spoke out, coming to the main lobby through the flight of stairs, hands raised above his heads. Even the assailants were surprised as they never knew someone was up there. The leader turned to him, gun pointed at his forehead, “Oh! By your name tag, I see you’re the manager. So I’m only going to ask you this once. Where is Mr. Christopher?”

The manager didn’t yield. Instead, he started pulling back towards the stairs and the assailants moved towards him the more, and farther from me. I took the cue, grabbed my suitcases, and made for the fire exit. Good thing I dressed lightly, I thought. Unfortunately, I wasn’t silent in my escape.
Immediately, gunshots rented the air, everyone in the bank hall started screaming and shouting, but I was determined to escape. I got to the door, unlatched it, not fearing the machine gun firing sporadically that might hit me with a stray bullet, and entered. I looked back just in time to see the manager dead, on the floor, shot in the chest.

Secretly, I blamed myself for his death, but the dead is gone, and the living must survive. I ran through a short tunnel from the fire exit to the outside. Once out, I was surprised that the criminals had no reinforcements outside. It baffled me a lot, but I didn’t care. I located the bank’s vehicle, and lucky for me, the driver was in there, scared. I screamed at him, “Go! Go!! Go!!!” and with the reflexes of an experienced driver, he swung the car into action and we exited the bank.

Relief came over me, I was happy that I was safe. I thanked my stars over and over again. Unknown to me, my woes were just about to begin.
I instructed the driver to take me to the construction site, where my boss would most likely be, so I would get rid of the money and save myself from danger. Just about a hundred metres from the site, a black van appeared and crashed into us. The driver lost control and I hit my head against the glass. Blood started to trickle. I was fast losing consciousness.

Three hefty men alighted from the van, shot my driver, masked me and threw me into their van. What happened to the money, where they were taking me, or whom they were, I did not know. I blacked out almost immediately I landed into their van.

Thanks for reading, again. You must be wondering what happened to me after that, right? Still your raging heart, same portal, in three (3) days’ time.
(Follow blog via email to get notified on posts immediately they are published. Thanks)

25 thoughts on “A Day At The Bank – II

    Anonymous said:
    January 11, 2014 at 2:14 PM

    D manager was stupid for his action trying to b 1 superhero but well he his mayb just an hero. Waiting anxiously for d concluding part.

    Like

      Larry McExx responded:
      January 11, 2014 at 4:14 PM

      LOL.. In my opinion, he was protecting me and my money. But wait for the concluding part, you might change your mind. Don’t lemme spoil the suspense already. Anticipate. Thanks for coming..

      Like

    Karo said:
    January 11, 2014 at 2:56 PM

    Nice write up Chris. Let us hope your boss is not the one setting you up o! Lolz. Haven’t read the first part yet but I’m going there now.

    http://www.karosstoryblog.blogspot.com

    Like

      Larry McExx responded:
      January 11, 2014 at 4:15 PM

      Hmm, I’m not suprised that you’re a writer too. We kinda think alike. You might be suprised though. Come back in three days’ time, and feed your curious mind..

      Like

    Karo said:
    January 11, 2014 at 3:09 PM

    Okay, this had good suspense. I should have read it first. Thumps up Chris or should I say Larry. I’m awaiting your next update.

    Like

      Larry McExx responded:
      January 11, 2014 at 4:17 PM

      LOL. I’m guessing you’re talking about the first Chapter. Larry or Chris, anyone works. And I’ll gladly try not to disappoint..

      Like

    moneylawd said:
    January 11, 2014 at 4:57 PM

    Great Job, The Suspense Is thrilling. I await the next episode. Fingers crossed.

    Like

      Larry McExx responded:
      January 11, 2014 at 9:27 PM

      Your comments, I value. Thanks, a million.

      Like

    protokolz said:
    January 11, 2014 at 5:32 PM

    The Suspense Though, Creativity and what have yhu. Larry Nice Piece Bruh. Still waiting for The Next Master Piece.

    Like

      Larry McExx responded:
      January 11, 2014 at 9:27 PM

      Thanks for reading. You won’t be disappointed. Thanks.

      Like

    herreeate said:
    January 11, 2014 at 8:58 PM

    Awww the manager sacrificed himself for you…errr Larry d suspense is already too much abeg,I hope d next episode will be the concluding part :|…NICE!!! *thumbs up*

    Like

      Larry McExx responded:
      January 11, 2014 at 9:28 PM

      LOOL. I’m sorry, but I’ll have to dash those hopes. Check back later. Thanks.

      Like

    Elvis Loon said:
    January 12, 2014 at 11:18 AM

    Seems to be a very nice story. Looking forward to reading all of it.
    Muzik Streets

    Like

    Anonymous said:
    January 12, 2014 at 2:24 PM

    nyc!!:-D

    Like

    anjie said:
    January 12, 2014 at 5:06 PM

    waiting………….for what happen next,

    Like

    sabbathston said:
    January 14, 2014 at 7:59 PM

    hey, dis z gr8, am very sure ur bosd z behind all diz, it’s only if u choose 2 chng it

    Like

    A Day At The Bank – III « Christopher's Cave... said:
    January 15, 2014 at 1:38 AM

    […] always, I say thank you to the regular readers, and to the newcomers, welcome. Read Chapter 1 and Chapter 2 by clicking the links, in case you haven’t read them. […]

    Like

    Demi said:
    January 15, 2014 at 9:48 AM

    It’s a nice one. *thumbs up*

    Like

    A Day At The Bank – IV « Christopher's Cave... said:
    January 17, 2014 at 9:35 AM

    […] or in case you haven’t read them at all, follow these links to go to Chapters —» One , Two and Three […]

    Like

    A Day At The Bank – VI « Christopher's Cave... said:
    January 26, 2014 at 11:32 AM

    […] read the past series, or missed some, here are the links to them [Chapter —-» One , Two, Three, Four and Five . ] Thank […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

